The Arrest, Search & Seizure component of the P.C. 832 courses is a 40-hour course which covers topics such as Criminal Justice, Leadership, Professionalism & Ethics, Cultural Diversity, Community Relations, Laws of Arrest, Investigative Report Writing, and Arrest Methods/Defensive Tactics. The Defensive Tactics portion of the training requires that a student display proficiency while performing a multitude of arrest and control techniques. In order to receive a certificate of completion for the course, you need to successfully pass the P.O.S.T. comprehensive written exam and the Physical Performance Test (This is not an actual physical test). Should you fail either test, you will have an opportunity to retest. Failing the retest constitutes course failure, and you will be required to repeat the entire course. NOTE: The course is now only offered in the daytime format!
California Community Colleges requires that a student be a resident of California for one year and a day prior to registering for classes. If you do not meet this requirement, you could be subject to out of state fees. Please feel free to contact our Admissions Office for specific details (951) 571-6370.
Enrollment, Fee & Payment Information
- Go to www.regionaltrainingprogram.org, select advanced officer training course. Find the desired date and register. Agency Sponsored (Your job is paying your fees and is paying your salary to attend the class) add your training liason information. If you are self-sponsored then please put your own information instead.
If you have questions or have any issues, please contact the coordinator, Correctional Deputy Chris Bayani at (951) 486-2837 or Cbayani@riversidesheriff.org
- Pay the course fee to the Riverside County Sheriff’s Department- Accounting & Finance office. The class fee is $119 for agency sponsored and $139 for self-sponsored. (Fee includes college tuition, student health fee, student workbooks, and misc. materials).
- Payment must be received prior to the start date of class and shall be either check, money order, or credit card. Checks or money orders shall be made payable to the Riverside County Sheriff’s Department and shall be mailed to 16791 Davis Ave, Suite A, Riverside, CA 92518; Attn: Accounting. Credit card payments have an additional fee and shall be made in person or email only. No invoicing! Course Fees Accounting Technician. If you want to pay by credit card, fill out the 832 credit card form and submit it via email. BCTCCourseFees@riversidesheriff.org.
- Show up to class on the first day!
NOTE: A minimum of 20 students on the first day of class is required in order to proceed with the class session. A notification will be sent out upon cancellation of the course.
Courses are offered based on scheduled attendance. Once scheduled, failure to attend, or cancel at least ten days prior to the start of the class will result in a charge for the full course fee, less any applicable college unit fees. An alternate student, from the same agency may fill the reservation.