The Firearms component of the P.C. 832 courses is a 24-hour course which covers topics such as Firearms Safety, Handgun Familiarization, Firearms Care and Cleaning, Shooting Principles, and Range Qualification. This course is designed to provide the student with firearms safety factors and precautions, firearms shooting principles including range firing of handguns. In order to receive a certificate of completion for the course, you need to successfully pass the Firearms Skill Examination. Should you fail either test, you will have an opportunity to retest. Failing the retest constitutes course failure, and you will be required to repeat the entire course.
- MVC #: ADJ-W10A
- Course Hours: 24
- College Units: .50
- Course Announcement
- ADJ-W10A: 1/5/2021 – 1/10/2021
California Community Colleges requires that a student be a resident of California for one year and a day prior to registering for classes. If you do not meet this requirement, you could be subject to out of state fees. Please feel free to contact our Admissions Office for specific details (951) 571-6370.
All students need to bring their firearms and Department of Justice (DOJ) clearance letters to the first day of class (See course syllabus for further information). You will not be permitted to take the firearms course without a current DOJ letter. The DOJ letter is deemed current if dated within (6) six months of the start of the class. Any DOJ letter over (6) six months old at the start of class will not be accepted. ANY student convicted of a felony and certain misdemeanors will not be allowed to possess a firearm in California. To get a DOJ clearance letter one will need to be fingerprinted via a Live Scan Fingerprint Service facility. The facility will then forward your fingerprints to the Department of Justice. DOJ will then send you a letter declining or allowing you to possess a firearm in California. Please allow 2-3 weeks for DOJ processing of fingerprints. A copy of the letter must be received by the coordinator on the first day of class, no exceptions. NOTE: Agency letterheads will no longer be accepted. All agency sponsored students will need to obtain a DOJ clearance letter as well. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Click on “Access the 832 Documents” at the bottom of this page.
Firearm, 500 rounds of ammunition, eye & ear protection, and firearm holster. (See course syllabus for further information).
Enrollment, Fee & Payment Information
- Contact the course coordinator, Deputy Autumn Temple, at (951) 486-3353 or firstname.lastname@example.org to be placed on the roster.
- Pay the course fee to the Riverside County Sheriff’s Department – Accounting & Finance office. The class fee is $74.00 (Fee includes college tuition, student health fee, range materials, and student workbook).
- Payment must be received prior to the start date of class and shall be either check, money order, or credit card. Checks or money orders shall be made payable to the Riverside County Sheriff’s Department and shall be mailed to 16791 Davis Ave, Suite A, Riverside, CA 92518; Attn: Accounting. Credit card payments have an additional fee and shall be made by phone. No invoicing! All payment questions should be directed to: Course Fees Accounting Technician (951) 486-2786/BCTCCourseFees@riversidesheriff.org.
- Show up to class on the first day!
NOTE: A minimum of 20 students on the first day of class is required in order to proceed with the class session. A notification will be sent out upon cancellation of the course.
Courses are offered based on scheduled attendance. Once scheduled, failure to attend, or cancel at least ten days prior to the start of the class will result in a charge for the full course fee, less any applicable college unit fees. An alternate student, from the same agency may fill the reservation.